November 4, 2016

Q.1) Which of the following is/are not a BASIC countries?

- 1. Indonesia
- 2. Cambodia
- 3. Bhutan
- 4. South Africa

Select the correct code:

- a) 1, 2 and 3
- b) 3 and 4
- c) Only 4
- d) All of the above

Q.1) Solution (a)

The BASIC countries (also Basic countries or BASIC) are a bloc of four large newly industrialized countries – Brazil, South Africa, India and China – formed by an agreement on 28 November 2009. The four committed to act jointly at the Copenhagen climate summit, including a possible united walk-out if their common minimum position was not met by the developed nations.

Q.2) Consider the following statements about "Uniting for Consensus" (UfC)

- 1. It was developed to oppose the expansion of permanent seats of UNSC
- 2. Pakistan is one of the founding members of UfC

Select the correct statements

- a) Only 1
- b) Only 2
- c) Both 1 and 2
- d) Neither 1 nor 2

Q.2) Solution (c)

India's nuclear-armed rival Pakistan has been leading the opposition to its inclusion in the UNSC's list of permanent members. Other countries, part of an interest group called the "Uniting for Consensus" (UfC), also curiously called "The Coffee Club", formed in 1995, are opposed to India (and the G4's bid) for permanent seats. Italy, Pakistan, Mexico and Egypt

November 4, 2016

were founder members of the UfC. The list also includes Argentina, South Korea, Spain, Turkey and Indonesia.

Q.3) Consider the following statements with respect to Schengen Area

- 1. Iceland, Norway and Switzerland are members of the Schengen Area but not the European Union
- 2. No territory outside European Continent is part of the Schengen Area as well as European Union
- 3. Post Brexit United Kingdom is now out of the Schengen Area
- 4. Even though the Schengen Agreement was signed in Luxembourg, it is not a member of the Schengen Area

Which of the following statements is/are incorrect?

- a) 1, 2 and 4
- b) 2, 3 and 4
- c) 2 and 3
- d) None of the Above

Q.3) Solution (b)

Iceland, Norway, and Switzerland - are associated members of the Schengen Area but are not members of the European Union

Azores (Portugal), Madeira (Portugal), and the Canary Islands (Spain) – these territories are special members of the European Union and part of the Schengen Area, even that they are located outside the European continent

Special member state territories and the European Union - Click Here

United Kingdom never joined the Schengen Area

The Agreement was signed by the five (5) following European countries: France, Germany, Belgium, Luxemburg, and Netherlands, in **Schengen**, a small village in Southern Luxemburg on the river Moselle. Luxembourg is a member of the Schengen Area

Schengen Area Countries List – Click Here

Interactive Map – <u>Click Here</u>

November 4, 2016

Q.4) Sampriiti-7 is a joint military exercise between

- a) India, Bhutan and Bangladesh
- b) India and Bhutan
- c) India and Bangladesh
- d) Nepal, Bhutan and India

Q.4) Solution (c)

In News - http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp-national/india-bangladesh-joint-exercise-from-tomorrow/article9302566.ece

Q.5) Consider the following attributes of Mangroves

- 1. It is a glycophypte
- 2. It has aerial roots
- 3. Buffer zone between land and sea
- 4. West Bengal has the highest mangrove cover in India

Select the correct code

- a) 1,2 and 3
- b) 1,2 and 4
- c) 2,3 and 4
- d) 1,3 and 4

Q.5) Solution (c)

It is a halophypte → Mangroves are salt tolerant trees, also called halophytes.

It has Aerial roots → Pneumatophore

Mangroves are buffers between the land and the sea. Coastlines throughout the world are facing serious problems of coastal erosion and threat of rising sea levels due to global warming has increased the threats by several folds. To control such assault of the sea on land the nature has provided what is called as Mangroves, a tropical littoral ecosystem which is more dynamic than the sea itself.

Rank States/UTs with Highest Mangrove Cover 2013 Total Mangrove Cover in km²

November 4, 2016

1	West Bengal	2,097
2	Gujarat	1,103
3	Andaman And Nicobar Islands	604
4	Andhra Pradesh	352
5	Odisha	213
6	Maharashtra	186
7	Tamil Nadu	39
8	Goa	22
9	Kerala	6
10	Karnataka	3

