Establishment of Chairs named after eminent Women in Universities

  • IASbaba
  • January 25, 2020
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Establishment of Chairs named after eminent Women in Universities

Part of: GS Prelims and GS-I- Society, GS-II- Education

In News

  • Union Ministry of Women and Child Development sets up ten Chairs in different fields with an aim to carry out research activities to encourage women.
  • The initiative was launched with the assistance of University Grants Commission on the occasion of National Girl Child Day (January 24).
  • Objective: To highlight and celebrate women achievers of the country to motivate young girls and women towards higher studies.
  • The chairs proposed by UGC and approved by the Ministry are:
    • Administration: Devi Ahilyabai Holkar
    • Literature: Mahadevi Varma
    • Freedom Fighter (North East): Rani Gaidinliu
    • Medicine & Health: Anandibai Gopalrao Joshi
    • Performing Art: Madurai Shanmukhavadivu Subbulakshmi
    • Forest/Wildlife Conservation: Amrita Devi (Beniwal)
    • Mathematics: Lilavati
    • Science: Kamala Sohonie
    • Poetry & Mysticism: Lal Ded
    • Educational Reforms: Hansa Mehta

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates