Central Vigilance Commission: New commissioner appointed 

  • IASbaba
  • April 27, 2020
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Central Vigilance Commission: New commissioner appointed 

Part of: GS Prelims and GS-II – Statutory Bodies

In News:

  • Retired bureaucrat Sanjay Kothari was sworn in as the next Central Vigilance Commissioner by President Ram Nath Kovind at an official oath-taking ceremony, recently. 

Important value additions:

The Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) 

Background: It was set up by the Government in 1964 on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by K. Santhanam.

Status: It is a statutory body governed by the Central Vigilance Commission Act 2003.

Mandate: To inquire into offences which might have been committed under the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 by certain categories of public servants. 

Composition: The Commission shall consist of a Central Vigilance Commissioner (Chairperson); and not more than two Vigilance Commissioners (Members).

Appointment: They are appointed by the President of India on recommendation of a Committee consisting of the Prime Minister (Chairperson), the Minister of Home Affairs and the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha. 

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates