Gilgit-Baltistan to Become a Pakistani Province (Map-based)

  • IASbaba
  • September 29, 2020
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Gilgit-Baltistan to Become a Pakistani Province (Map-based)

Part of: GS Prelims and GS-II – International Relations

In news

Key takeaways

  • Gilgit-Baltistan is an autonomous region now and with this elevation, it will become the 5th province of the country.
  • Currently, Pakistan has four provinces – Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Punjab, and Sindh.
  • This elevation will lead to adequate representation from the province on all constitutional bodies, including the National Assembly and the Senate.
  • The Government will also start working on the Moqpondass Special Economic Zone (SEZ) under the China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC).
  • India has held that the Government of Pakistan or its judiciary has no locus standi on territories illegally and forcibly occupied by it.

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates