Standing committee

  • IASbaba
  • December 22, 2021
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Standing committee

Part of: Prelims and GS-II -Polity 

Context The Lok Sabha has sent the Bill which seeks to raise the age of marriage for women to 21 to a standing committee.

What are Parliamentary Committees?

  • The parliamentary committee is a committee which is appointed or elected by the House or nominated by the Speaker.
  • It works under the direction of the Speaker and presents its report to the House or to the Speaker and the Secretariat.

Different types of committees:

  • ‘Standing’ committees: They are usually reconstituted on an annual basis.
    • It is a permanent and regular committee which is constituted from time to time according to the provisions of an Act of Parliament or Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business
    • They are further divided into financial committees and departmentally-related standing committees (DRSCs).
    • The three financial committees are the Public Accounts Committee, the Estimates Committee and the Committee on Public Undertakings.
  • ‘Select’ committees are formed for a specific purpose. That select committee ceases to exist once the Bill is disposed of.

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates