Padma awards

  • IASbaba
  • March 22, 2022
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Padma awards

Part of: Prelims 

Context: India’s first Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat, who died in a chopper crash in Tamil Nadu last year, political leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, Tata Sons chairman N. Chandrasekaran, former Comptroller & Auditor General Rajiv Mehrishi and late Radheshyam Khemka were among 54 prominent personalities who were conferred the Padma awards by the President of India.

  • Total 128 awards were presented in the ceremony.

About Padma Awards

  • The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. 
  • The Awards are given in three categories: 
    • Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service).
    • Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and 
    • Padma Shri (distinguished service).
  • It was instituted in 1954.
  • All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.
  • The awards are presented by the President of India. 
  • The Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.
  • The Committee is headed by the Cabinet Secretary and includes Home Secretary, Secretary to the President and four to six eminent persons as members. 
  • The recommendations of the committee are submitted to the Prime Minister and the President of India for approval.

News Source: TH

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates