Namsai Declaration

  • IASbaba
  • July 18, 2022
  • 0
Governance, Indian Polity & Constitution
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

In News: Assam, Arunachal CMs sign pact to resolve border dispute

  • The two states signed an agreement (Namsai Declaration) to end border issues between the two states and decided to “restrict” the number of disputed villages to 86 instead of 123.
  • Chief Ministers of the two North-eastern neighbours met at Namsai in Arunachal Pradesh and signed the agreement.


  • The two states share an 804.1 km-long border.
  • The grievance of Arunachal Pradesh which was made a union territory in 1972 is that several forested tracts in the plains that had traditionally belonged to hill tribal chiefs and communities were unilaterally transferred to Assam.
  • After Arunachal Pradesh achieved statehood in 1987, a tripartite committee was appointed which recommended that certain territories be transferred from Assam to Arunachal.
  • Assam contested this and the matter is in the Supreme Court.


For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates