FIFA World Cup 2022

  • IASbaba
  • December 22, 2022
  • 0
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Context: Recently, Argentina won the FIFA World Cup 2022 beating France in the final.

About FIFA:

  • Fédération Internationale de Football Association, meaning International Association Football Federation.
  • It is the international governing body of association football, beach football and futsal.
  • It was founded in 1904 to oversee international competition among the national associations of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.


  • Now comprises 211 national associations.
  • These national associations must each also be members of one of the six regional confederations into which the world is divided: CAF (Africa), AFC (Asia and Australia), UEFA (Europe), CONCACAF (North & Central America and the Caribbean), OFC (Oceania) and CONMEBOL (South America).
  • Headquartered in: Zürich, Switzerland

About FIFA World Cup 2022:

  • It was the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup.
  • It was an international football tournament contested by the men’s national teams of FIFA’s member associations.
  • Host Country: Qatar ( awarded in 2010)
  • It was the first World Cup held in the Arab world and Muslim world.
  • At an estimated cost of over $220 billion, it is the most expensive World Cup ever held to date.
  • This tournament was the last with 32 participating teams, with the field set to increase to 48 teams for the 2026 edition.
  • France were the defending champions, having defeated Croatia 4–2 in the 2018 final.
  • Next World Cup 2026 will be held in Canada, Mexico and the United States.

Awards at FIFA World Cup:

  • Golden Boot: French player Kylian Mbappé won the Golden Boot as he scored the most goals (eight) during the tournament.
  • Golden Ball: Argentine captain Lionel Messi was voted the tournament’s best player, winning the Golden Ball. Messi won his second Golden Ball award after 2014 as the best player of the tournament, becoming the first player to receive the award twice.
  • Golden Glove: Emiliano Martínez from Argentina, won the Golden Glove, awarded to the tournament’s best goalkeeper.

Source:  Indian Express

Previous Year Question

Q.1) Consider the following statements in respect of the Laureus World Sports Award which was instituted in the year 2000:

  1. American golfer Tiger Woods was the first winner of this award
  2. The award was received by Formula One players so far.
  3. Roger Federer received this award the maximum number of times compared to others.

Which of the above statements is/are correct? (2021)

  1. 1 and 2 only
  2. 2 and 3 only
  3. 1 and 3 only
  4. 1, 2 and 3

Q.2) Consider the following statements in respect of the 32nd Summer Olympics:

  1. The official motto for this Olympics is ‘A New World’.
  2. Sport Climbing, Surfing, Skateboarding, Karate and Baseball are included in this Olympics.

Which of the above statements is/are correct? (2021)

  1. 1 only
  2. 2 only
  3. Both 1 and 2
  4. Neither 1 and 2

Q.3) Consider the following statements in respect of the ICC World Test Championship:

  1. The finalists were decided by the number of matches they won.
  2. New Zealand was ranked ahead of England because it won more matches than England.

Which of the above statements is/are correct? (2021)

  1. 1 only
  2. 2 only
  3. Both 1 and 2
  4. Neither 1 and 2


For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates