E-visa facility for foreigners from 156 countries

  • IASbaba
  • April 17, 2021
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

E-visa facility for foreigners from 156 countries

Part of: GS Prelims and GS – II – International Relations 

In news

  • The Union Home Ministry has restored the electronic visa (e-visa) facility for foreigners from 156 countries who intend to visit India for business, conferences and medical reasons, including for medical attendants. E-visa for tourists is yet to be restored

Important value additions 

  • An e-visa is provided in five categories — tourist, business, conference, medical, and medical attendant. 
  • Under the arrangement, a foreigner can apply online four days prior to travel.
  • After the details are verified, an electronic travel authorisation (ETA) is generated, which has to be presented at the immigration checkpost on arrival
  • Entry through e-visas is allowed only at 28 designated international airports and five major seaports in India.
  • Though available to people of 171 countries before restrictions were announced in 2020, the facility has been restored only for 156. 
  • China, the U.K., Canada, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia and Saudi Arabia are notable exclusions. 
  • The relaxation comes in the wake of a deadly second wave of the COVID-19 pandemic.

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates