South Sudan’s Parliament dissolved

  • IASbaba
  • May 11, 2021
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

South Sudan’s Parliament dissolved

Part of: GS Prelims and GS-II – International Relations 

In news

  • South Sudan’s President Salva Kiir has dissolved Parliament. 
  • Lawmakers from opposing sides of the country’s civil war shall now be appointed under a 2018 peace accord.

Key takeaways 

  • The setting up of a new legislative body was part of an accord signed in September 2018 between Mr. Kiir and Vice-President Riek Machar. 
  • In accordance with the 2018 accord, the new assembly will number 550 lawmakers, the majority — 332 — from Mr. Kiir’s governing SPLM party. 
  • The parliamentarians will be nominated by the different parties.

Important value additions 

  • South Sudan is a landlocked country in east/central Africa.
  • It is bordered to the east by Ethiopia, to the north by Sudan, to the west by the Central African Republic, to the south by Uganda. 
  • It gained independence from the Republic of the Sudan in 2011, making it the most recent sovereign country 
  • Its capital is Juba.
  • It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile and known locally as the Bahr al Jabal meaning “Mountain River”.
  • The White Nile passes through the country, passing by Juba.

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

[jetpack_subscription_form title="Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates" subscribe_button="Sign Up Now !" subscribe_text=""]