Mali suspended from African Union

  • IASbaba
  • June 5, 2021
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Mali suspended from African Union

Part of: GS Prelims and GS -II – International Relations 

In news

  • The African Union suspended Mali’s membership in response to the military coup and it threatened Mali with sanctions if a civilian-led government was not restored. 
  • West African regional bloc Economic Community of West African States ECOWAS had also suspended Mali.

About Mali

  • Mali is a landlocked country in West Africa. Capital: Bamako.

About African Union

  • It is a continental union consisting of 55 countries of Africa
    • In 2017, the AU admitted Morocco as a member state.
  • The AU was announced in the Sirte Declaration in Sirte, Libya in 1999.
  • It was founded in 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
    • It was launched in 2002 in Durban, South Africa.
    • The AU’s secretariat, the African Union Commission, is based in Addis Ababa

India and AU

  • India is a member of the AU Partners Group (AUPG), which meets periodically in Addis Ababa. 
  • India-Africa Forum Summit was the first ever India-Africa Forum Summit, participated by the Leaders of 14 African countries and the African Union Commission
    • It represented a turning point in the India- AU relations.  
    • The Summit adopted the Delhi Declaration and the Africa-India Framework for Cooperation, which constituted the blueprint for cooperation between India and Africa in the 21st century. 

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....