Delimitation Panel

  • IASbaba
  • May 7, 2022
  • 0
Indian Polity & Constitution
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Why in News: Jammu and Kashmir Delimitation Commission released its final order

  • The delimitation exercise had started in June 2021 in the state.

Key takeaways

  • The panel has recommended seven additional constituencies — six for Jammu and one for Kashmir — taking the total number of seats in the UT to 90 from 83 earlier
  • It has reorganised of the Parliamentary constituencies such that the five Lok Sabha seats now are made up of exactly 18 Assembly constituencies each, taking the total number to 90
  • It has reserved nine Assembly seats for Scheduled Tribes – six in Jammu and three in Kashmir
  • It has removed the regional distinction between Jammu and Kashmir by treating it as one, as is reflected in the combining of Anantnag region in Kashmir with Rajouri and Poonch in Jammu to carve out Anantnag-Rajouri as a Parliamentary constituency.

What is delimitation?

  • Delimitation is the act of fixing or redrawing the limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies of Assembly or Lok Sabha seats in a country
  • The delimitation exercise is carried out by an independent high-powered panel known as the Delimitation Commission
  • The redrawing of the constituencies is done based on its population size – based on its last census
  • The process may also result in change in the number of seats in a state.
  • This exercise also involves reservation of Assembly seats for SC & ST in accordance with the Constitution.
  • The Commissions orders have the force of law and cannot be questioned by any court.

Constitutional Provisions

  • Under Article 82, the Parliament enacts a Delimitation Act after every Census.
  • Under Article 170, States also get divided into territorial constituencies as per Delimitation Act after every Census.
  • Once the Act is in force, the Union government sets up a Delimitation Commission
  • Delimitation Commissions had been set up four times — 1952, 1963, 1973 and 2002 under the Acts of 1952, 1962, 1972 and 2002.

Composition of Delimitation Commission

  • The Delimitation Commission is appointed by the President of India and works in collaboration with the Election Commission of India


  • Retired Supreme Court judge
  • Chief Election Commissioner
  • Respective State Election Commissioners

Previous Year Questions (PYQs)

Q.1) Consider the following statements: (2017)

  1. The Election Commission of India is a five-member body.
  2. The Union Ministry of Home Affairs decides the election schedule for the conduct of both general elections and bye-elections.
  3. Election Commission resolves the disputes relating to splits/mergers of recognised political parties.

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

  1. 1 and 2 only
  2. 2 only.
  3. 2 and 3 only.
  4. 3 only.

Source: Indian Express

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates