The Booker Prize

  • IASbaba
  • May 30, 2022
  • 0
History and Art and Culture
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

First Indian language book to win the International Booker Prize: Author Geetanjali Shree’s translated Hindi novel, Tomb of Sand

  • The 2018 novel titled ‘Ret Samadhi’ was translated by Daisy Rockwell and published as ‘Tomb of Sand’ in 2021.

The Booker Prize Award

  • One of the best-known literary awards for fiction writing in English, including both novels and collections of short stories.
  • First awarded in 1969
  • Criteria: Must be written in English and published in the UK and Ireland
  • International Booker Prize: Awarded annually for a single book, written in another language and translated into English. The £50,000 prize money is divided equally between the author and translator each year.

Many Indian-origin writers have won the Booker in the past, such as

  • Arundhati Roy (‘The God of Small Things’)
  • Salman Rushdie (‘Midnight’s Children’)
  • Kiran Desai (‘The Inheritance of Loss’)
  • Aravind Adiga (‘The White Tiger’)
  • Shree is the first Indian to win an international prize

Source: Indian Express

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates