Param Vir Chakra

  • IASbaba
  • January 25, 2023
  • 0
Indian Polity & Constitution
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Context: Recently, Prime Minister named 21 islands in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands after recipients of Param Vir Chakra.

About Param Vir Chakra:

  • It is the highest wartime gallantry award in India.
  • It is granted for “most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy”.
  • The first recipient was Major Somnath Sharma for his actions in the 1947-48 India-Pakistan War.
  • The last recipient was Captain Vikram Batra for actions in the Kargil War in 1999.
  • Till now it has been granted to 21 armed forces personnel.
  • Most of the Param Vir Chakras were granted posthumously as they made the supreme sacrifice in the line of duty.
  • It was designed by Savitri Khanolkar, a Swiss national whose real name was Eve Yvonne Maday de Maros.

Source: Indian Express

Previous Year Question

Q.1) Consider the following statements in respect of Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards:

  1. Bharat Ratna and Padma awards are titles under the Article 18 (1) of the Constitution of India.
  2. Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954, were suspended only once.
  3. The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of five in a particular year.

Which of the above statements are not correct?

  1. 1 and 2 only
  2. 2 and 3 only
  3. 1 and 3 only
  4. 1, 2 and 3


For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

[jetpack_subscription_form title="Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates" subscribe_button="Sign Up Now !" subscribe_text=""]