Grievance Appellate Committees (GACs)

  • IASbaba
  • February 1, 2023
  • 0
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Context: Recently, Central Govt established three Grievance Appellate Committees based on the recently amended Information Technology (Intermediary Guidelines and Digital Media Ethics Code) Rules, 2021 (IT Rules, 2021).

About Grievance Appellate Committees:

  • It is a critical piece of overall policy and legal framework to ensure that the Internet in India is Open, Safe and Trusted and Accountable.
  • The GAC will be a virtual Digital platform that will operate only online and digitally – wherein the entire appeal process, from filing of appeal to the decision thereof, shall be conducted digitally.
  • The need for GAC was created due to large numbers of grievances being left unaddressed or unsatisfactorily addressed by Internet Intermediaries.
  • To create a culture of responsiveness amongst all Internet Platforms and Intermediaries towards their consumers.
  • Users will have the option to appeal against decision of the grievance officer of the social media intermediaries and other online intermediaries before this new appellate body.
  • The Committee will endeavour to address the user’s appeal within a period of 30 days.
  • The online platform will be operational in one month of this notification of the Grievance Appellate Committee, i.e. from 1st March 2023.
  • Periodic reviews of GACs and reporting and disclosures of GAC orders will also be part of the process.

Source:  PIB


For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates