India extends support for protecting the Antarctic environment

  • IASbaba
  • October 1, 2021
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

India extends support for protecting the Antarctic environment

Part of: GS-Prelims and Mains GS-III: Environment, Conservation

In News: India has extended support for protecting the Antarctic environment and for co-sponsoring the proposal of the European Union for designating East Antarctica and the Weddell Sea as Marine Protected Areas (MPAs).

  • Essential to regulate illegal unreported and unregulated fishing
  • India’s decision to consider extending support and co-sponsoring the MPA proposals is driven by conservation and sustainable utilization principles and adhering to the global cooperation frameworks (such as Sustainable Development Goals, UN Decade of Oceans, Convention on Biodiversity, etc.) to which India is a signatory.

India had embarked on Antarctic expedition in 1981, through the Southern Indian Ocean sector. Till date, India had completed 40 expeditions with plans for the 41st expedition in 2021-22. India has solidified its interests in upholding its Antarctic vision.

About Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR)

  • CCAMLR is an international treaty to manage Antarctic fisheries to preserve species diversity and stability of the entire Antarctic marine ecosystem. 
  • CCAMLR came into force in April 1982. 
  • India has been a permanent member of the CCAMLR since 1986. 

About Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)

  • An MPA is a marine protected area that provides protection for all or part of its natural resources. 
  • Certain activities within an MPA are limited or prohibited to meet specific conservation, habitat protection, ecosystem monitoring, or fisheries management objectives. 

About Weddell Sea: Part of the Southern Ocean and contains the Weddell Gyre. Its land boundaries are defined by the bay formed from the coasts of Coats Land and the Antarctic Peninsula

Do you know?

  • The Indian Antarctic expeditions began in 1981. 
  • The Indian Antarctic programme has now been credited to have built three permanent research base stations in Antarctica—named Dakshin Gangotri, Maitri, and Bharati. 
  • As of today, India has two operational research stations in Antarctica named Maitri and Bharati.
  • The National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research (NCPOR), Goa, manages the entire Indian Antarctic program.

News Source: PIB

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....