Boltzmann medal

  • IASbaba
  • March 10, 2022
  • 0
UPSC Articles
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Boltzmann medal

Part of: Prelims 

Context: Mr. Deepak Dhar, physicist, from the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune, has been selected for the Boltzmann medal. 

  • He is the first Indian to win this award.
  • He shares the award with American scientist John J. Hopfield who is known for his invention of an associative neural network, now named after him.
  • Prof. Dhar has been chosen for this award for his seminal contributions in the field of statistical physics.

Boltzmann medal

  • It is awarded by the Commission on Statistical Physics (C3) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.
  • It was initiated in 1975, with Nobel laureate (1982) K.G. Wilson being the first recipient.
  • The medal honours outstanding achievements in the field of statistical physics.
  • It has been given to one or two persons, once in three years, in the last 47 years.
  • It is given only once to a person and on the condition that that person has not won the Nobel prize so far.

News Source: TH

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates