North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO)

  • IASbaba
  • November 19, 2022
  • 0
International Relations
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

In News: NATO is in the eye of the storm after one of its member nations said that a Russian missile killed two of its citizens.

  • Poland was considering whether it should launch NATO’s Article 4 procedure.
  • Any attack on Poland, a NATO member, could drag the 30-nation strong alliance into the Russia-Ukraine conflict, risking a full-fledged nuclear war.

NATO’s article 4:

  • Article 4 of the treaty mandates that the member nations consult each other when faced with threat.
  • Article 5 spells out the ‘one-for-all, all-for-one’ nature of the treaty which says that an armed attack against one or more of them in Europe or North America shall be considered an attack against them all.
  • Consequently, each of them, in self-defence recognised by Article 51 of the Charter of the United Nations, will assist the Party or Parties so attacked, to restore and maintain the security of the North Atlantic area.

North Atlantic Treaty Organisation or NATO:

  • NATO is a Western defensive military alliance led by the United States.
  • It came into being after World War II as a counter to the Soviet Union’s possible expansion attempts in Europe.
  • Then-US President Harry S Truman signed the 12-member treaty on April 4, 1949. After the collapse of USSR in 1991, several eastern European nations previously members of the Soviet Union joined NATO.
  • 30 Members: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, the United States, Greece, Turkey, Germany, Spain, Czechia, Hungary, Poland, Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Albania, Croatia, Montenegro, and North Macedonia
  • Following the Russian invasion of Ukraine, Finland and Sweden applied for NATO membership and were invited to join the collective by 28 of the 30 members, with Turkey and Hungary being notable exceptions. Bosnia and Herzegovina and Georgia have expressed interest in joining the collective as well.
  • Core duties:
  • Collective defense principle and routinely undertakes exercises to strengthen their territorial, naval, and air forces.
  • NATO members also arm themselves to face evolving methods of attacks like cybercrimes, and have participated in military operations in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosova, Afghanistan, Iraq, Libya and Syria, among others.

Russia-NATO conflict:

  • When NATO came into existence, Soviet Union sought to counter it with a defence collective of its own and signed the Warsaw Pact with Poland, Czechoslovakia, Albania, Bulgaria, East Germany, Hungary, and Romania during the Cold War. However, this pact was gradually dissolved after the war ended and its existing member nations eventually joined the NATO.
  • The expansion of NATO from 12 to 30 members has been a source of tension between Russia and the West for years since Russia shares a border with Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Belarus, Ukraine, and Georgia.
  • Of this, apart from Belarus and Ukraine, the others have either joined NATO or are in queue for a membership.
  • Ukraine has warm water ports like the Port of Sevastopol and the Port of Novorossiysk, which remain navigable year-round, unlike the Port of Vladivostok in eastern Russia, are crucial for Russian commerce. If Ukraine were to join the NATO, that would cut of Russia’s access to the Black Sea and the trading opportunities it offers.

Source: Indian Express

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates