Golden Globes Award

  • IASbaba
  • January 14, 2023
  • 0
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Context: Recently, Naatu Naatu song from SS Rajamouli’s epic movie RRR, won the Best Original Song in the 80th Golden Globe Awards.

About the Golden Globes Award:

  • The Awards are accolades bestowed by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA).
  • It started in 1944, recognizing excellence in both American and international film and television.
  • There are 105 members of the HFPA.
  • The eligibility period for the Golden Globes corresponds to the calendar year (from January 1 through December 31).
  • Naatu Naatu is the first Asian song to win the Golden Globe honour.
  • AR Rahman was the first Indian to win a Golden Globe award in Best Score category for the film Slumdog Millionaire, a 2008 British drama film by Danny Boyle.

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA):

  • HFPA or Hollywood Foreign Press Association is the organisation behind the awards.
  • HFPA is a non-profit outfit made up of journalists and photographers on the entertainment beat in different media like newspapers, magazines, books, radio, and TV broadcasting in the United States.
  • As the word ‘foreign’ implies, most of the members of HFPA are non-US citizens.
  • At the time of writing this, HFPA consists of 105 members from 55 countries.

Source: Indian Express

Previous Year Questions

Q.1) Consider the following statements in respect of Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards:

  1. Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards are titles under the Article 18(1) of the Constitution of India.
  2. Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954, were suspended only once.
  3. The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of five in a particular year.

Which of the above statements are not correct? (2021)

  1. 1 and 2 only
  2. 2 and 3 only
  3. 1 and 3 only
  4. 1, 2 and 3

Q.2) Consider the following statements in respect of the Laureus World Sports Award which was instituted in the year 2000:

  1. American golfer Tiger Woods was the first winner of this award.
  2. The award was received mostly by ‘Formula One’ players so far.
  3. Roger Federer received this award maximum number of times compared to others.

Which of the above statements are correct? (2021)

  1. 1 and 2 only
  2. 2 and 3 only
  3. 1 and 3 only
  4. 1, 2 and 3

Q.3) Consider the following statements in respect of the 32nd Summer Olympics:

  1. The official motto for this Olympics is ‘A New World’.
  2. Sport Climbing, Surfing, Skateboarding, Karate and Baseball are included in this

Which of the above statements is/are correct? (2021)

  1. 1 only
  2. 2 only
  3. Both 1 and 2
  4. Neither 1 nor 2


For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates