Schengen Zone

  • IASbaba
  • January 4, 2023
  • 0
Geography, International Relations
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Context: Recently, Croatia adopted the euro currency and enter Europe’s passport-free Schengen zone after nearly a decade after joining the European Union.

About Schengen Zone:

  • Schengen Area signifies a zone where 27 European countries (now 28), abolished their internal borders, for the free and unrestricted movement of people
  • It is in harmony with common rules for controlling external borders and fighting criminality by strengthening the common judicial system and police cooperation.
  • Schengen Area covers most of the EU countries, including Ireland and the countries that are soon to be part of the Schengen Area: Romania, Bulgaria, and Cyprus.
  • Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Lichtenstein are associate members of the Schengen Area but are not members of the EU.
    • They are part of the EFTA and implement the Schengen acquis through specific agreements related to the Schengen agreement.
  • Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City have opened their borders with, but are not members of the visa-free zone.
  • There are three more EU members, that have not joined the Schengen zone: Romania, Bulgaria, and Cyprus – that are seeking to join soon.

Source: The Hindu

Previous Year Question

Q.1) Consider the following pairs:

Region often mentioned in the news:   Country

  1. Anatolia Turkey
  2. Amhara Ethiopia
  3. Cabo Delgado Spain
  4. Catalonia Italy

How many pairs given above are correctly matched?

  1. Only one pair
  2. Only two pairs
  3. Only three pairs
  4. All four pairs


For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates