National Commission for minorities

  • IASbaba
  • March 6, 2023
  • 0
Indian Polity & Constitution
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Context: Recently, the National Commission for Minorities rescued stranded Indians from Libya.

About the National Commission for minorities :

  • It was established by the Union Government in 1992 under the National Commission for Minorities Act.
  • Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis), and Jains are six religious communities that have been designated as minority communities by the Union Government in India’s Gazette.
  • Sikhs, Buddhists, Parsis, Christians, and Muslims were notified in 1993
  • Jains were added later in 2014.
  • According to the 2001 Census, these six communist countries account for 18.8% of the country’s population.


  • NCM consists of a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson, and five members.
  • All the members shall be from amongst the minority communities.
  • A total of 7 persons to be nominated by the Central Government should be from amongst persons of eminence, ability, and integrity.
  • Tenure: Each Member holds office for a period of three years from the date of assumption of office.
  • The Chairperson or a member can resign from office by writing to the Central Government.

Removal of Office of Chairperson

  • The Central Government shall remove a person from the office of Chairperson or the member if they:
  • Become an undischarged insolvent.
  • Are declared having an unsound mind by a competent court.
  • He refused to act or become incapable of acting.
  • Have been convicted and sentenced to imprisonment for an offense which in the opinion of the Central Government involves moral turpitude.
  • Absent from three consecutive meetings without obtaining leave of absence.
  • Abused the position of chairperson or member in the opinion of the Central Government.
  • Detrimental to the interest of minorities or public interest.
  • However, No person shall be removed under this clause until the person has been given a reasonable opportunity of being heard in the matter.


  • Recommending Union and State Government regarding Implementation of Safeguards for the minorities.
  • Address the complaints regarding the deprivation of rights of minorities and take up such matters with the rightful authorities.
  • The commission shall perform any of the functions mentioned above and have all powers of civil court.


Previous Year Questions

Q.1) Which of the following are associated with ‘Planning’ in India? (2014)

  1. The Finance Commission
  2. The National Development Council
  3. The Union Ministry of Rural Development
  4. The Union Ministry of Urban Development
  5. The Parliament

Select the correct answer using the code given below.

  1. 1, 2, and 5 only
  2. 1, 3, and 4 only
  3. 2 and 5 only
  4. 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5

Q.2) Which of the following bodies does not/do not find mention in the Constitution? (2013)

  1. National Development Council
  2. Planning Commission
  3. Zonal Councils

Select the correct answer using the codes given below.

  1. 1 and 2 only
  2. 2 only
  3. 1 and 3 only
  4. 1, 2 and 3


For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel –

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates