• IASbaba
  • May 9, 2022
  • 0
Environment & Ecology
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

In News: A Pangolin was rescued from the Ranthambhore Tiger Reserve


  • Out of the eight species of pangolin, the Indian Pangolin (Manis crassicaudata) and the Chinese Pangolin (Manis pentadactyla) are found in India.
  • Pangolins are scaly anteater mammals and they have large, protective keratin scales covering their skin.
  • They are the only known mammals with this feature.
  • Insectivore- Pangolins are nocturnal, and their diet consists of mainly ants and termites
  • Habitat – Indian Pangolin – It is widely distributed in India, except the arid region, high Himalayas and the North-East.
  • Chinese Pangolin – found in the Himalayan foothills in Eastern Nepal, Bhutan, Northern India, and North-East Bangladesh and through Southern China.

Difference between Indian and Chinese Pangolin

  • Indian Pangolin is a large anteater covered by 11-13 rows of scales on the back.
  • A terminal scale is also present on the lower side of the tail of the Indian Pangolin, which is absent in the Chinese Pangolin.


  • Wildlife Protection Act, 1972: Schedule I
  • IUCN Red List: Indian Pangolin – Endangered; Chinese Pangolin – critically endangered
  • CITES: Appendix I


  • Hunting and poaching for local consumptive use and international trade for its meat and scales in East and South East Asian countries, particularly China and Vietnam.
  • They are believed to be the world’s most trafficked mammal

Source: The Hindu

For a dedicated peer group, Motivation & Quick updates, Join our official telegram channel – https://t.me/IASbabaOfficialAccount

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel HERE to watch Explainer Videos, Strategy Sessions, Toppers Talks & many more…

Search now.....

Sign Up To Receive Regular Updates